Saturday, December 26, 2015

This Nebraska hit looks clean. Here’s why it was called targeting

Here's the part of the targeting rule that the officials likely applied.

Nebraska safety Nate Gerry was ejected for targeting for the second straight game, this time on a very controversial call in the waning seconds of the first half of the Foster Farms Bowl against UCLA. Here's the hit:

Nebraska coach Mike Riley was extremely upset with the call:

Almost everyone on social media, and the analysts in the booth, agreed with Riley, and the analysts were openly surprised the call was upheld. However, targeting has two parts:

Targeting and Initiating Contact With the Crown of the Helmet (Rule 9-1-3)

No player shall target and initiate contact against an opponent with the crown (top) of his helmet. When in question, it is a foul.

Targeting and Initiating Contact to Head or Neck Area of a Defenseless Player (Rule 9-1-4)

No player shall target and initiate contact to the head or neck area of a defenseless opponent with the helmet, forearm, fist, elbow or shoulder. When in question, it is a foul.

The officials were clearly not applying the first part of the rule, as Gerry did not lead with the crown of his helmet. Rather, they were likely applying the second part of the rule. Gerry did hit the UCLA receiver's head first. The question is whether the receiver was defenseless. If he had established himself as a runner, he would not be defenseless; but if he did not have time to establish himself, the defender cannot come in high like that.

It is ultimately a judgement call, but one that is written into the rules.

No comments:

Post a Comment